Back to Top
Welcome to Sumter County Schools

The Sumter County School District is located in Sumter County, Georgia, the home of the 39th President of the United States, Jimmy Carter.  The District serves over 4,700 students from Americus, Leslie, Desoto and Plains. Teachers, administrators, support staff members and the Board of Education are committed to achieving the mission of graduating all students. We are also committed to providing a quality, equitable education for all students and providing appropriate professional learning opportunities for all staff members.

District News

Get Georgia Reading
Get Georgia Reading partner myON is delivering more than 10,400 free books to computer and mobile devices that you can access 24 hours a day-every day-through Aug. 31. Last year, kids read over 100,000 books. This year, "R... Read More

Profile: Sherri Harris; From the Rucker Street courts to the State Championship   As a young girl, the Americus-Sumter High School (ASHS) Lady Panther’s head baske... Read More

Making Learning a Superhero Adventure Making learning a Superhero adventure Published 2:00 pm Thursday, February 18, 2016 AMERICUS — They are the red-caped crusad... Read More

SCMS Panthers, Lady Panthers sweep region championships By MICHAEL MURRAY  AMERICUS – Both Sumter County Middle School’s (SCMS) Panthers and Lady Panthers b... Read More

100 Things to Love